Upcoming Event

2020 High School Students

Essay Competition Divisions


We are gearing up for 2020 activities.  2020 will be the 100 year and 150 year anniversaries of the 19th and 15th Amendments granting Women and Black Men the Right to Vote. This essay contest will focus on Civil Rights icons who fought for Black Voting Rights.


Essay Rules

1. All Essays shall be 400 words or less.


2. Select three (3) topics from the six (6) subjects listed below to write about:


            * The 1965 Voting Rights Act

            * Sojourner Truth

            * Daisy Lampkin

            * Octavius Catto

            * Fannie Lou Hamer, or

            * Medgar Evers


We have set the stage for our 2020 competition.  Here are the school divisions:




DIVISION 1                  DIVISION 2                   DIVISION 3


Carrick HS                          Brashear HS                       Montour HS

City Charter HS                  Mckeesport HS                   East Allegheny HS

Penn Hills HS                     Sto-Rox HS                         Beaver Falls HS

Clairton HS                         PROPEL-Braddock             Obama HS




DIVISION 4                    DIVISION 5                  DIVISION 6

Woodland Hills HS                U-PREP HS                        Allderdice HS

CAPA HS                               Central Catholic HS           Gateway HS 

Washington Co HS                Baldwin HS                        West Mifflin HS

PROPEL-Andrew Street        Perry HS                            Highland HS   







Valley HS

Urban Pathways HS

Westinghouse HS

PROPEL-Montour HS       

Click Below to Download the

Complete Contest Rules

2020 Student Essay Contest Rules
2020 Student Essay Contest Rules-1.docx
Microsoft Word document [105.1 KB]

How to Find Us

B Marshall Productions
Phone: 724-205-9376 724-205-9376
Email: StoptheViolencePgh@yahoo.com

Get Connected With Us.

Like us on Facebook to learn about our latest art exhibitions and special admission offers!

Recommend this page on:

Print | Sitemap
© B Marshall Productions